Wednesday, November 30, 2016

DAY 17 OF ANNOUNCING! Table of Contents for: +HORROR LIBRARY+ Volume 6

I’ll be unhurriedly posting all contributors here, one-a-day, to reveal the T.O.C. for this latest anthology volume that I edited for +HORROR LIBRARY+, to be published by Farolight Publishing (Cutting Block Books) in April, 2017.

DAY 17 of 27: Josh Rountree

JG Faherty presents “The H Train”
Edward M. Erdelac presents “Hear The Eagle Scream”
Rebecca J. Allred presents “Mother’s Mouth, Full of Dirt”
Jay Caselberg presents “The Ride”
John M. Floyd presents “The Red-Eye to Boston”
Tom Johnstone presents “Oldstone Gardens”
Bentley Little presents “The Plumber”
Darren O. Godfrey presents “D.U.I.”
Carole Johnstone presents “Better You Believe”
David Tallerman presents “Casualty of Peace”
Kathryn E. McGee presents “The Creek Keepers’ Lodge”
Jeffrey Ford presents “Five Pointed Spell”
Sean Eads presents “Predestination’s a Bitch”
Dean H. Wild presents “The Gaff”
Stephanie Bedwell-Grime presents “The Night Truck”
C. Michael Cook presents “The Night Crier”
17. Josh Rountree presents “Snowfather”


Ypres is a hell. Is it not bad enough that the very land seems hungry to swallow us all? Must we be hunted by the black soul of our enemies made flesh? I killed him again last night, a closer encounter than ever before. I dread night patrols more and more, the way the land pitches and rolls, even when the guns have grown cold and the shells stopped falling. The world is white ice and barbed wire, and a man can lose himself in bottomless craters and abandoned foxholes.
No matter how many of your brothers walk at your side, we are each alone in that terrible place. Perhaps it is the quiet that unnerves me most. War should never be quiet. I think it is the purity of the silence that draws Snowfather out again and again... The creature is chaos, and he cannot countenance even a moment’s peace… 

Snowfather by Josh Rountree

ABOUT: Josh Rountree

Josh Rountree’s short fiction has been published in a variety of magazines and anthologies, including Realms of Fantasy, After Death . . ., and Electric Velocipede. His first collection of stories, Can’t Buy Me Faded Love, is available from Wheatland Press. Josh lives in Georgetown, TX with his wife and two sons.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.